Friends

One component of the Find My app for iPhone and iPad is the ability to track the location of others. Here’s how to add new friends, keep track of them, and more.

Adding Friends

You are now sharing your location with the contact, and they can offer to do the same on their end.

Finding Friends

You can find different information about your friend through the Find My app. On the friend’s card, you can find their current location (plus directions) and contact information. You can also add a custom label for their position. To find this information:

Sharing Your Location

You can switch the global status of your location sharing at any time using the Find My app.

Notify Others of Your Location

The Find My app makes it easy to share your location with others and also alert your friends when you’re somewhere else.

From there:

Remove a Friend

You can remove a friend in the Find My app at any time.

Devices

With the Find My app for iPhone and iPad, you can also keep track of your Apple devices, including other mobile devices, AirPods, Macs, and Apple Watch. If you’re part of an Apple Family Sharing group, their machines are also trackable using the app.

Finding Devices

For lost devices: When you mark a device as lost and it’s reachable through a wireless signal, it will automatically lock. From there, your phone number and message get displayed so the person on the other end can contact you.

Erasing a Device

In the event you need to wipe a device remotely, you can do so using the Find My app. The tool is best when your device is missing, and you need to protect your data.

Location Information and Security

To find a missing device, the Find My app uses Bluetooth signals across all Apple devices, not just the ones you own. As the company explains: It’s also important to note how Apple secures location information: Find My is a useful app to help you find friends, family, and Apple devices. Use it on your mobile devices, Macs, and Apple Watches.

How to Use Apple s Find My App - 58How to Use Apple s Find My App - 29How to Use Apple s Find My App - 68How to Use Apple s Find My App - 11How to Use Apple s Find My App - 75How to Use Apple s Find My App - 10How to Use Apple s Find My App - 27How to Use Apple s Find My App - 72How to Use Apple s Find My App - 62