The way it works is you simply write up your email as you would normally but before you send it, you set the Defer Delivery options. Once set you send the email as normal and the email will sit in your Outbox until the date/time triggers at which point it will be sent. Super simple and handy. Update 5/19/2010 – Outlook 2010 Users – Please see the latest update here: – How-to Delay or Schedule Email Delivery for Outlook 2010 First, let me demonstrate the steps Outlook 2007 steps in this video:

And how the Step-by-Step How-To Delay the Delivery of an Email using Outlook 2007

  1. Click New to create a new Email

  2. Click Message Options Popout under Message Tab to display Message Options dialog box.

  3. Check Box Do not deliver before: and click Calendar and Time Drop Down to select exactly when you want the message delivered/sent. Click Close when finished.

  4. Click Send if your email is ready to be sent.

Before sending out a Corporate Merger or product release announcement to a newspaper using the Deliver Delivery steps shown above, I recommend you first test it out. Prepare an email and send it to yourself or a test account.  Take a look in your Outbox and you should see it sitting there waiting to trigger based on the Date and Time you configured in Step 3 above.

Questions?  Would love to hear from you! I do not use cached exchanged mode, yet i still get a prompt when close outlook that says the message will not send unless my outlook is open. Once you do that you should be able to test it quickly but deferring an email then closing outlook, wait until it’s supposed to be sent (send it to you Hotmail account or something) and check if it arrives. Let us know if it works! Thanks. Thanks! Outlook 2007, corporate company, outlook – main email client. ‘Use Cached Exchange Mode’ is active (check mark) bcoz my system is always ON. I did exactly as described but the mail doesn’t leave my outbox. The same works well with my colleagues in the same network (ofcourse ! sitting besides me…) Any troubleshooting ? Is this your work email address? I ask because you need to make sure yourOutlook client is connected to an Exchange Server or this will not work. Doyou know how to confirm that? It is work and we use flag/smtp. Yeah it is the strangest thing. For each email it is automatically setting delayed delivery. Was doing this yesterday too. I have to uncheck for each message. You would think there is a general settings for this in tools>options but there is not. It is only in the message options. I am on Outlook 2007 12.0.6. You are so fantastic I have another question if you don’t mind ;) Ok… The defer delivery I outline in this Tutorial is actually only compatible with a Microsoft Outlook / Microsoft Exchange combo. The reason is because it’s actually a function of the Exchange Server server not Outlook. Now, that being said there IS a way you can defer the delivery using Outlook rules however outlook only allows you to defer using rules by 120 minutes. Here’s the link to the steps: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/microsoft/outlo… There is a category for almost any IT question you might have plus there are a lot of ppl who watch for new topics to help answer questions also. Thanks and welcome to the groovyPost community! Thanks,Prad I am having the same issue. Did you ever figure out a solution for this? Thanks! Ben I just took a look and I don’t see anyway to do it using Outlook 2007 however, I was able to setup a quick Rule to defer the invite. Here’s a screenshot as an example: http://is.gd/6xJv4/groovyPost/DeferMeeting This only draw-back to this however is Outlook 2007 only let’s you defer emails being sent (including invites) for up to 120 minutes…. Hope this helps out a bit. I’m going nuts. How do I disable ‘delayed send’ and when doing a mail merge? 1). after composing the mail i check “DO not deliver before option” and now it is not allowing me to close outlook …after reading all post i have to disable “use cache exchange mode” which i was unable to get where is that option … 2). when ever i compose a new mail “Do not deliver option ” is already selected . from where i can disable that option … You can also configure Outlook to defer a sent email using Outlook Rules as I explained here: https://www.groovypost.com/howto/microsoft/outlook/defer-delivery-of-sent-items-email-for-microsoft-outlook/ however it’s not as useful I know… Sorry for the confusion. I’ll update the article to make it more clear. Issue 1. At my home PC, I configured gmail on my Outlook able to get all mail (inbox, sent, draft) of my Gmail account to Outlooks Inbox not in respective folders. Issue 2. While sending mail from outlook (where gmail is configured) with option “DO not deliver before” i m unable to close the outlook (means outlook should be open when sending mail with this option). Issue 3. On PC 1, I do all above 2 steps, now on my another Home PC (PC2) i would like to configure same gmail account in outlook, but here unable to get all mails just get new mails no old mails which are still available on gmail. https://www.groovypost.com/forum/microsoft-office/outlook-issues-with-gmail-and-deferrals-t95994.html Please continue the conversation there to get your problem solved. Thanks! Hi Gary. Just to your aware, with Outlook 2007 and Outlook 2010, if you click on the Defer Delivery bottom on the ribbon, by default it will automatically show the Defer Delivery box checked and the time will be set to 5pm. This is default behavior. By just clicking on the button, your enabling it. This might be the reason why when you Click the button and uncheck the box then Click the button again it’s still checked. By clicking the button, that in effect is checking the box. As to why some emails are sent with a delay and others are not, can’t help you. I took a look at ALL Outlook registry settings and there is no way to actually disable the feature. My guess is you might be clicking that button from time to time by accident thus setting a delayed delivery…?? Try this, go into Outbox, Right Click on one of the SENT field and Click Field Chooser. Then click down arrow and select “All Mail Fields”. Scroll down and find Defer Until. Click it and drag it up next to the sent field. Now, anytime you send an email it will show you if the mail is set with a DEFER UNTIL value. Send email until you get hit with an email stuck in the Outbox and check to see if it has a Defer value. If it does, yeah Outlook is assigning a deferral value to your mail. If it doesn’t… you have a different issue. Keep me updated! Take a look at my response to DZFraud above and add the “Defer Until” field. This way you know if that’s really your issue or if you have something else going on. Keep us updated! I’ve been doing some reading. Tried using SCANPST.exe – but it crashes! Found a whole slew of errors – if these mean anything to you, reading the log, I found references to AMap page errors (csFree values), BBT entry errors (refcount in RBT)… oivey… many many errors. BTW, scanpst crashes when I click “repair” – this is starting to smell like a pretty serious problem. One more bit of info – and this could explain a lot… I’m near the 2gb level (1.9 actually). New development. Outlook reports a generic error (0x80042109) – vague problem with connecting with outbound server. This is consistent with previous observation – I can receive mail, cannot send. Email is still tagged with “delay send” – but I’m tackling the larger issue of sending. I’ll settle for partial paralysis over total any day. More later. I think you do have bigger issues here. Create the new PST file and then move all your data over into it. I’m guessing this will fix your issue overall. If you have any further Questions or Comments regarding How-To Delay or Defer Delivery of an email in Outlook, please post your comment or question in our Free groovyPost Forum here: https://www.groovypost.com/forum/microsoft-office/ Thanks everyone! Excellent post. I used your advice to set up a 5 minute delay rule for all outgoing mail but now when I want to set customized delivery time and date for individual mail items, I cannot. I don’t want to set up many rules, I just want to be able to set delivery time manually for individual mail items and if I don’t they should follow the 5 minute delay rule. Is it possible? and if yes, how can i do it? Thank you very much Best Regards, Falah Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 22How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 33How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 3How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 77How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 38How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 60How To Delay or Schedule Delivery of Email Using Outlook 2007 - 9